Knowledgebase Support HMRC Useful links
Knowledgebase home
Tax Return Production
Accounts Production
Practice Management
VAT Filer
CloudConnect
Anti-Money Laundering
Support home
Video Training Guides
NEW

Hot Topics
SimpleStep Guides
Release Notes
Technical
Known Issues

Service Status
Useful Links
What is MTD? Support for Accountants Support for Business
HMRC's MTD Timeline
Digital Requirements
TaxCalc's MTD Journey
MTD for VAT
MTD for Income Tax
MTD for Corporation Tax
MTD for VAT
MTD for Income Tax
MTD for Corporation Tax
Step-by-step Guide

Job Template Task Actions

Article ID: 2980
Last updated: 04 Jul, 2023

There are two different methods to create your Tasks, Workflow mode or Checklist mode. Workflow mode allows you to automate the start of each Task, making your Jobs run more efficiently, so that no manual updates are needed. You can setup your Tasks so that when one is complete, the next Task begins and you can send a notification to specific users. Checklist mode allows you to create a simplified list of tasks in the form of a checklist. These Tasks are automatically allocated with the Job assignee and due date and the status is either Planned or Completed.

In this scenario we’ll use Workflow mode so that once the task is complete, we’ll update the work status as well as the Job status and notify a user.

  1. From the Job Template navigate to the relevant Task.
  2. Click View task automation.
  3. From the When dropdown list, select when you would like the automation to start. In this example, select when the task is completed.
  4. From the Then dropdown list select Change Work Status.
  5. From the To dropdown list select Records Requested.
  6. Click Add condition and from the Then dropdown list select Change Job Status.
  7. Then in the To dropdown list select In Progress.

To notify a user of the status change you will need to add another condition.

  1. Click Add condition and from the Then dropdown list select Notify User.
  2. From the To dropdown list select the user to be notified.
  3. Now click Save and Close.

Therefore, when the Task is complete the work status is updated to Records Requested, the Job status is updated to In Progress. and the selected user will be notified.

Article ID: 2980
Last updated: 04 Jul, 2023
Revision: 6
Views: 527
This article was: